started Gupta Amygdala retraining

Today I started the Gupta Amygdala retraining.

It may look like mumbo jumbo another nlp guru life coach praying on gullible people but it’s not. It’s a very clear approach of a physical system.
It makes sense to me as an engineer and it fits my own research and theories into CFS and my own case in particular.

My (para)sympathethic nervous system not feeling safe is something I’ve identified as one of the factors in my illness years ago.
I had some influence on it by becoming aware of it and by having some rituals performed (the subconscious lóves rituals) but it has not made me feel fully safe and therefor recover fully. My own improvements go slow because it’s hard to design a program and follow it at the same time. So why not follow a program some other CFSer has made? Ashok Gupta had CFS, hypothesized about it, tried things out, found what worked and made it into a sound structure.

For the next six months I’ll be doing the program every day. And on Nov 5 I’ll be having a New Me Party, I guess. I’m buying into this:

I just watched the introduction/first session and it all looks good. It fits very well with my mental approach of this illness. I’ve already been doing most of this his way, it seems. Good.

The only thing new to me is recording negative thoughts in order to show the mind that they are noticed and noted. No need to repeat them, thusly.

As the way my CNS is callibrated is only part;y cause of my illness I foresee my recovery leading to a new life, different from the one I was persueing when I fell ill. Actually, when I’ve recovered, my life will not be very different from the one I lead now, only without the fatigue.
I’ll still supplement Progesterone. I’ll still have to work around certain DNA-mutations and pacing and calm happiness will be essential building blocks of my day. As is curbing my ambition and definition of a life well spend.

Imagining my life how it will look when I’m healed does not have the things I thought I wanted before: wild parties, stamina of a 17 year old, loud exciting things happening or being rich/famous/having my own wiki-entry.

Instead there’s: having a day out with my knitter friends, visiting a sheep or yarn event and laughing a lot.
and: going on a bicycle ride and stopping somewhere to have an ice cream.
Making love, with my husband, in our own bed, on just a regular Tuesday.
Hiking through nature together. Going on a kayak tour. Visiting Norway…
Visiting a spinning group in the evening and driving there by car.

Little things. Big things. Enjoyable things. Mostly that: enjoyable things. Enjoying my body and my friendships. Just being alive.

Leave a Reply

