5 year plan to heal from ME/CFS: year 1

I fell ill in spring 2008.
pic by Jason Antony

It took 3 years for the panic to subside and to understand a bit of what was going on and to learn that doctors prefer to have one thing clearly wrong in a body. They do not so well with multiple system failures. They were 3 years of brainfog too. I was at 5 or 10% activity level. Getting out of bed didn’t happen on most days.

The next 3 years were used to get a grip on things. To educate myself. I didn’t know what I was doing but slowly I learned about how they work: my digestion, my sleep, my hormones, lymphe, cell function, mind etc. Slowly a coherence emerged. In these years I made significant recovery. Brainfog lifted, stomach pains became less and overall energy level increased.

Especially the last year has seen me leap forwards, both in knowledge and in energy. I bought a car, I learned about my enzyme (dis)functions and only a few weeks ago I finally got to grips with my life long insomnia.
I’m now at 30% activity level of a normal healthy person while I detox. I’m at a better level when I don’t.

Now I’ve got a plan for more healing in place.

I give it 5 years, at least, since I acquired this illness over a long period of time -even if the final straw in 2008 was a virus- and my body is fragile.
I’ve seen many people make a remarkable and fast recovery only to crash a few years later. Pacing myself is going to be the biggest challenge.

PLANS/GOALS FOR YEAR ONE: 2014

  • brush teeth every day (and evening)
  • keep the house a bit tidy (vacuum every week and pick up after myself)
  • work methylation protocol (with a break every few weeks)
  • aid digestion and detoxification (eat well, take hcl, lie down and take little walks)
  • organize nice clothes to wear (sew them, buy them, trade them, felt them)
  • enjoy the more supple body (take walks, dance while putting the kettle on, shower, lift weights perhaps)
  • lie down every day, enter into Parasympathetic mode.
  • pacing. Only two things can be done on a day. Also pacing through the year: especially in May/June, in September/October and in December.

These are all tailor made goals, specific for my situation.
And they all have greater significance than you’d think upon first glance.

For example, brushing the teeth before 2 o’clock in the afternoon will get rid of bacteria that are happily growing there and will become a burden to my body during the day. I have noticed. Brushing really helps my body, I get cranky otherwise. Yes, a brain chemistry symptom for not brushing teeth… I’m weird.
(I don’t need to brush for teeth health because my diet has no sugars in it, brushing and flossing once before I go to bed is enough to keep my teeth healthy. Your milage will vary because your diet is different, the make up of your saliva is different and you probably don’t think brushing teeth is any effort at all)

(if anybody is interested in the significance of the other goals, please let me know in the comments and I’ll write them out)

This post marks a point in time. I hope in a year I get to write another one.
I sure hope I remember to take things slowly, all through the year and avery day.
It is very tempting when you feel a bit better to bite off big chunks of life. But they won’t sit well in my tummy. Two things baby, two things a day.

Hurry slow.
pic by Michael & Christa Richert

Leave a Reply

