I build my Faraday’s cage!

Faraday cage yshield silver tulle
I have build myself a Faraday’s cage!
It will shield my body from all the High Frequency Radiation that’s going on, especially when I’m in the city, from sources such as mobile phone networks and wifi’s. We get up to 14 wifi networks in our house in the city!

These high frequency waves may very well mess with the body cells, with functions that perhaps use the same frequencies? It could be Sodium Potassium pump (the Na Ka process, the Natrium Kalium pump to non-US folk) or with synapses firing in the brain. I do not sleep well in the city, with all the networks going on, and have had a suspicion these fields were bothering me for a long time now. No better way to try out a theory than put it to the test!

The fabric is Silver Tulle from the company Yshield.com. It is a knitted nylon, coated with a little bit of silver. Silver is a good conductor. This fabric is one of the best shielding fabrics there is. It shields up to 50 dB at 1 GigaHerz and as these scales are logarithmic (the result doubles with every step) this provides way better shielding than say a fabric or fleece or gauge that shields 40 dB.

Sewing jersey is a pain. With shielding material it is important that there are no holes in the construction and especially the seams need to be folded over. As any knitted fabric has a tendency to roll at the sides, I put the two pieces right sight to wrong side, so they wanted to roll together, and sewed the seam.
Indeed it rolled and this seam is now part of a perfectly closed cage of Faraday:
Faraday cage yshield silver tulle

The frame consists of the flexible tubes I got from a childrens playhouse:
Untitled
Untitled

I put it on its side, removed the cloth (which made the tubes SPROIING! into round hoops).
I keep them in a longer, flatter shape with some woven bands.
Faraday cage yshield silver tulle
I specifically chose my most favourite woven band, long ago purchased to use on clothing. As I’ll be spending many an hour in this tent I like something nice to look at. It is also why I have them with the nice side facing inwards.
I attached snaps at the ends. This way I can amend the shape and the measurements of the tent.

Tubes with fabric draped over it:
Faraday cage yshield silver tulle

Entrance through the side:
Faraday cage yshield silver tulleOnce inside I fold the fabric under so the fabric overlaps all around.

It works!
Faraday cage yshield silver tulle

Next week I’ll take it to the city and take my daily rests in it. I wonder what the outcome will be! But first I’ll add a felted underlayer. That way the cat can join me. She really wants to but the fabric is too vulnerable for her love stamping feet clawing.

Another thing to consider is that silver has a tendency to discolour. That is why I can expect discolouration from oxidation and from the oils in my hands. Not to worry. A true testing engineer doesn’t mind ;)

I want to add a big thank you to Yshield.com in Germany. It’s with them that I bought this fabric. Their customer service is excellent. They are very friendly and personally oriented. And they know their technical stuff!
I called them early one morning to ask a question I had mentioned only the previous evening by email and the lady answering didn’t need any introduction, as soon as she heard my name she switched to English and knew what I was talking about. A really good company I gladly recommend.

Delivery was fast, free and well secured:
Untitled

I am not paid for this endorsement.

Leave a Reply

